The Major Golf Championships


The major golf championships for men are, in order, the Masters, the U.S. Open, the Open Championship and the PGA Championship. The Masters is the first men’s major of the year and is played annually at Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Georgia. The winner of this golf tournament is awarded a green jacket in recognition of their accomplishment.

The U.S. Open is the second men’s major of the year and is the United States’ annual open tournament. This means that the golf tournament is open to any golfer who qualifies. The location for the U.S. Open varies from year to year; however, the 2012 U.S. Open is to be played at The Olympic Club in San Francisco.

The Open Championship is the third men’s major of the year and is the United Kingdom’s annual open tournament. This golf tournament is often called the British Open in the United States. The location of this tournament also varies annually; the 2012 edition is to be played at Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Club in Lytham St. Annes, Lancashire, England.

The final major of the year is the PGA Championship. This golf championship is associated with the PGA Tour and is also played annually at varied locations. The 2012 PGA Championship is to be played at The Ocean Course in Kiawah Island, South Carolina.

The women’s majors include the Kraft Nabisco Championship, the LPGA Championship, the U.S. Women’s Open and the Women’s British Open (the Evian Masters is set to become a major in 2013).

The Kraft Nabisco Championship is the first women’s major played and is annually held at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, California. It is a tradition for the winner of the golf tournament to jump in the pond surrounding the 18th green.

The LPGA Championship is the second women’s major played. This major is played at a different golf course each year; in 2012, this site will be Locust Hill Country Club in Pittsford, New York.

The third women’s major of the year is the U.S. Women’s Open, which rotates locations and in 2012 will be played at Blackwolf Run in Kohler, Wisconsin.

The final women’s major is the Women’s British Open. This major is also played at a changing site, which will be Royal Liverpool Golf Club in England in 2012 (the dates have been delayed due to the Olympics, however.)

These golf tournaments are not only helpful in terms of entertainment; any good golfer could tell you that watching the best players in golf play the game can help your golf game considerably.